Open Modal

Tyler, the Creator drops out of Lollapalooza & Outside Lands; replaced by Megan Thee Stallion, Sabrina Carpenter

Concert of Tyler the Creator. 07 June 2022. AFAS Live Amsterdam^ The Netherlands
Concert of Tyler the Creator. 07 June 2022. AFAS Live Amsterdam^ The Netherlands

Tyler, the Creator has canceled his headlining appearances at this year’s Lollapalooza festival in Chicago and Outside Lands Music Festival in San Francisco. Lollapalooza, take place Aug. 1-4 at Chicago’s Grant Park, have replaced Tyler with Megan Thee Stallion; while Outside Lands, set one week later on Aug. 9-11 at San Francisco’s Golden Gate Park, will now feature Sabrina Carpenter.

Tyler, the Creator did not explain why he was canceling his performances at two of the summer’s major festivals, simply writing on X: “i hate saying this but i have to cancel lollapalooza and outside lands. i made a commitment that i can no longer keep, and that bums me out knowing how excited folks were. that is not sexy at all. please please forgive me or call me names when you see me in person. Love.”

Lollapalooza’s producers posted on their socials that Megan Thee Stallion will take Tyler’ place, writing: “Hot girl summer in Chicago. Unfortunately, Tyler, the Creator will not be able to perform this year. See @theestallion headline Lolla on Thursday, August 1st!”  Outside Lands also posted their new lineup on its website, with Carpenter noted as the replacement headliner, marking her first major North American festival headline billing.  Outside Lands wrote on Instagram“We are excited to announce that @sabrinacarpenter will now headline the Lands End stage on Saturday, August 10th! Due to personal reasons, Tyler, the Creator will no longer be performing at Outside Lands.”

Tyler, the Creator last headlined Lollapalooza and Outside Lands in 2021, in support of his album “Call Me if You Get Lost.” In April, he headlined Coachella shortly after the release of the expanded “Call Me if You Get Lost: The Estate Sale,” where he brought out Childish Gambino, A$AP Rocky, Charlie Wilson and Kali Uchis.

Editorial credit: Ben Houdijk /

Recommended Posts